Tommy Karevik of Kamelot on being frontman

Kamelot++2012+PNGSince the dramatic departure of Kamelot singer Roy Khan in 2011, that was surrounded by numerous rumors, Kamelot has definitely bounced back up. When the unique norwegian voice left, the band was left in a slumber that abruptly went into joy as the new vocalist Tommy Karevik was presented. With experience from progressive metal singing in Seventh Wonder, he not only had the technical knowledge and emotional depth but also a similarity to Roy Khan in tone and looks. Tommy Karevik has recently commented in Kamelot Germany on how his new life as frontman has altered his everyday and musical life.

 

It has really been a big change in every aspect of my life. I was coming from not playing so many shows and mostly working in the studio and also working as a firefighter. Now I have this part-time job as a musician, traveling around, meeting new people, playing in front of thousands of people, doing many more shows then I’ve ever done before. It’s really a big difference and it’s a big challenge, but I think for me, it’s something I really want to do. I can feel it. You can’t even compare it to 2011; it’s a new start for a big part of my life.

Kamelot’s latest album, number ten, Silverthorn is out in stores since October 2012 and below here you can watch and listen to the first single: Sacrimony (Angel of Afterlife).

/Christoffer Bertzell

