Danny Nelson [Malignancy]

Malignancy is recognized as one of the longest standing and well-known Death Metal bands in the New York death metal scene along with Incantation, Mortician and Suffocation. They have been on the road already since 1992 and they just released in October 2012 the album Eugenics and I had the chance to interview the founder and singer Danny Nelson. 

Malignancy

Danny Nelson, Ron Kachnic, Mike Heller, Roger J. Beaujard

Hi Danny! Malignancy has just released the new album Eugenics, how is the response so far?
Hey what’s up!! Yes our new album Eugenics was released in the U.S. And Europe on October 9, 2012. The response has been killer so far from the fans. Reviews have also been favorable! So, all in all it has had a great start.

How can you describe it?
Eugenics is a concept album, the first for Malignancy.
Forced to dwell hundreds of miles underground, in an abandoned U.S. archive, they fight to live. This installation still contains all the necessary provisions needed for survival. A self-sufficient complex, far removed from the vigor of life topside. It is equipped with generators, a constant replenishing air supply, even waste management. A perfect habitat for the evolution of the last species on Earth, Man. That is the intro to the album that we printed on the back of the CD.

It has passed exactly 20 years since Malignancy started. How has the band developed today, since the beginning?
Malignancy today is a mature band. When I started the band back then with some friends , it was just for fun and to see if we could actually do it. After a year of messing around we finally started to write decent songs and soon after released the “Eaten Out From Within” demo in 1993. Fast forward to 2012 and Malignancy is a completely different animal. Our style has become so much more complex than the earlier material. I always wanted Malignancy to have a unique sound and I think we have achieved that.

What do you consider the major turning point in the band’s career?
I would say the release of the first album, Intrauterine Cannibalism. It was a major step to go from demo band to releasing albums on a label. That release got our name out to more fans in the death metal community. We got bigger and better gigs as well.

Danny, when did you actually get interested in Metal?
I have been into metal for a long time, my parents listened to rock when I was a kid. I remember buying Judas Priest – Point of Entry with my Mom. Haha. My uncle introduced to bands like Twisted Sister, Quiet Riot and Metallica when the bands came out. I was lucky enough to grow up when metal was started to dish out some awesome bands. The birth of thrash and the evolution to death metal. What a great time to grow up!!

And what made you growl for the first time?
My growls were more like screams back then. I would growl to try and mimic other vocalists. The first Malignancy practice back in February 1992 was funny as hell. I bought a microphone and plugged it into a small Gorilla amp and tried to scream. I was a nervous wreck. I still have the recording we made on a boombox. My voice for the first few months was more in the Martin Van Drunen vein. Then I was able to heavy up my voice for the demo recording. Killer memories for me.

What is your purpose as a musician with Malignancy? What place does it have in your life?
Malignancy has an important role in my life, being in the band is all I know. I started Malignancy as a teenager and now I am in my late 30’s and I am still doing this. I never thought the band would last this long, maybe it is because I refuse to let it die. I have a career outside the band just like the other members do. I do not intend to stop doing Malignancy! I just want to put out sick, twisted, technical brutality!

Do you have other bands/projects beside Malignancy?
I do have another band that I do with Roger J. Beaujard called Prosthetic Cunt!! It’s fun as hell and all I have to do is do crazy vocals. It is a good stress reliever.

Sandy the hurricane has been a tragedy for many, how did it go for you, the band and your relatives?
Yes it has been a real tragedy for many New Yorkers. My family and I were very lucky, no damages. We lost electricity for five days and lost a few day’s pay at my job. Nothing major. The band also faired well with no damages.

/Viktoria Colonna

