Blake Judd [Nachtmystium]

With the new album Silencing Machine, Nachtmystium is one of the most hyped metal band right now. I reviewed the album myself and see it as a masterpiece! Nachtmystium was formed in the US by Blake Judd and it’s known for its experimental psychedelic black metal sound. I just asked some questions to Blake which you can read below.

You can also read the Music Is On-album review HERE !

The new album Silencing Machine seems to have received splendid reviews!
How does it feel?
Yeah, it’s gotten a lot of great response, which is of course appreciated. We never really go into it expecting anything. Of course, we hope that people like what we’re doing but, ultimately, we make this music for ourselves so if they didn’t like it, we wouldn’t be too worried about it.

What can you tell us about this new album? 
This is the first time in a long time where I’ve actually written this record with the full band. We had been playing together for so long that it felt good in the studio to work together as a unit and make this record what it became. The sound is much more of a black metal record than the last couple ones we’ve done. We went into it with a plan to make this a much more dark, negative record than the Black Meddle records and I think we accomplished that.

What do you think that distinguishes your music from other bands?
I think that our incorporation of electronics is the main thing that people would point out. We have a lot of progressive and even industrial elements in the music and I think is one of the first things people hear in our sound.

Why the title Silencing Machine?
The title is actually a play on a Nine Inch Nails lyric from the song “Mr. Self-Destruct”. I’ve always liked Nine Inch Nails and that line really stuck out to me as a particularly sinister one. So, with what our music sounds like on this record, this line just kept coming to me and the title seemed to fit.

Do you have personal feelings behind the music in Silencing Machine?
All of our albums are based on personal experience, so yes a lot of the songs have personal meanings.

What is next in the future for Nachtmystium? 
We’ve got a US tour coming up. We’re planning tours and festivals in Europe for next year and looking at a couple of bigger tours for the US next year as well. I’m finishing up work on the new Twilight album as well which will get a lot of my attention next year.

How did you meet the other members of the band?
We’ve all known each other for quite a while due to the Chicago metal scene being very close-knit. Drew has been in Nachtmystium previously back in the early days. The other guys have all been in bands I’ve been a fan of and friends for a long time.

What do you do in your free time?
My life is pretty consumed by music. Whether I’m playing, writing, or just listening. That’s probably the main focus honestly.

/Viktoria Colonna

