Nils Molin [Dynazty]

Nils Molin is the singer of the melodic heavy metal band Dynazty from Sweden. The band released its third album Sultans of Sin 29th of February 2012 produced by Peter Tägtgren (Pain, Hypocrisy). These guys have a big tour coming up. Soon at Rockstad Falun Festival in Dalarna, Sweden. Just two weeks ago I asked Nils a couple of questions:

Hi there! How is Dynazty going?
We’re doing great! Just about to head over to the US for two shows in Los Angeles and after it is time to start preparations for a tour of China!

How did it feel to perform on Getaway Rock Festival this summer?
It was great! We played there last year as well!

Did you stayed the other days at the festival?
We had to leave the same day because we had two shows coming up the day after and the day after that so unfortunately we didn’t have time to see any other bands…

What can you tell us about the new album Sultans of Sin?
That It’s a bombastic and hard-hitting album packed with hooks, great playing and melodic bliss and that everybody oughta check it out!

Did you always know that you wanted to be a singer?
Well, I started out as a guitarist but when I discovered my singing voice in my teens there was nothing else I wanted to do!

Which were your “idols” when you were a kid? Are the same that influence your music today? 
I grew up listening to all the classic hard rock bands such as Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Deep Purple, Rainbow and so on.. My favourite singers and biggest influences I would say are Ronnie James Dio, Rob Halford, David Coverdale, Paul Rodgers and Glenn Hughes!

You really sing some very high tunes, how often do you exercise and keep training your voice?
All the time I think. Singing’s such a huge part of My life. I don’t do your typical vocal exercises but I basically sing all the time. When I cook, when i drive a car, when I watch tv and even in my sleep! True story!

What other interments do you play?
I can play some guitar. That’s about it!

The last album you have listened to?
I Can’t stop listening to Symphony X’s last album, Iconoclast! It’s absolutely mind-blowing! Fantastic Singer by the way!

/Viktoria Colonna

