Tobias Sammet – An Interview

We will see Tobias Sammet (Edguy) here in Sweden at Rockweekend on Saturday 11th of July!
He is the singer and songwriter in the well-known band Edguy that is one of the most famous german rockbands in the world! Edguy in the past years had the privilege to share the stage with Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Scorpions and many other big bands.
Edguy has remarkebly sold more than 1 million albums!
Tobias Sammet is the heart of his project Avantasia that it is a spectacular ensemble of elite musicians that Tobias works with on the albums. In the last Avantasia CD: The Scarecrow (2008) he had guests like Alice Cooper, Eric Singer of Kiss on drums, Michael Kiske (Ex Helloween), Rudolf Schenker and many more!

I had the honor to interview him!

Where are you now at the moment? And what are you doing?

I am in the studio, working on Avantasia . I just came home from a trip to Italy where I was a guest for Uli Jon Roth’s band, there was Kai Hansen, the former Europe guitarist Kee Marcello, Mr. Palmer of Emerson Lake and Palmer, Ritchie Kotzen and some others and we were doing a charity jam session for the victims of the fatal earthquake a few months ago. Besides that, I work on Avantasia and I work on Avantasia and have I told you that I work on Avantasia? Life is great, I feel blessed to ride a lucky streak of inspiration, composing is so much fun.


How is it to be a one-man-project as Avantasia?

I guess it’s not as cool as being a formula one race driver but it surely beats being a plumber, haha. Seriously, I love it. I can do whatever I wanna do, there are no limits or boundaries. Everything is possible within the realm of a huge bombastic concept. I love that. You have a song that you think would be perfect for Alice Cooper, so what do you do? You ask Alice if he’d like to do the song and in my case he did. I’ve managed to work with some of Rock’s and Metal’s biggest stars and real idols of generations, that is a gift to me. Things like that make you realize that really anything is possible. But I have to say, that it is not really a one man project, Sascha Paeth is my partner in crime musically and without him I would have had several heart attacks at this point.


For example how do you write and arrange songs?

I sit down and wait for inspiration to sneak in, or I just steal something from Helloween and make it mine. No, really I usually sit on my keyboards or on a guitar or bass and play around and improvise and at some point I get melodies and chord combinations that promise to lead “somewhere”. From there I build it up and then depending on the mood of the song fragments I have I get lyrical ideas…

Any new songs coming up?

You’d think I am crazy but I got around 20 songs written. During the last 4 years I have been very creative. I don’t write songs because I need them, I do it because I feel when an idea is strong I have to capture it. Usually I hate when songwriting happens like in a factory, new song, new song, new song… Done, next one. Done, next one… But the ideas are just there, so why throw them away if they are great? I have thrown away many mediocre ideas as well, but the good ones survive and I think I have had surprisingly A LOT of good ones recently.

Which songwriter do you admire the most?

Hard to say, there’s quite a lot. I like Jim Steinman, Desmond Child for his great chorus, I guess he’s just written one chorus in about 58 versions, listen to the chorus of Alice Cooper’s House Of Fire and Bon Jovi’s Living On A Prayer. Same song writer, same chorus. Anyway, I love Tony Clarkin of Magnum, I like Paul Stanley’s songs, I love Freddie Mercury. There are a lot of great writers out there. Europe had fantastic songs, that Swedish guy who wrote for Aerosmith and Bon Jovi, can’t remember his name, great writer. Neil Schon and Jonathan Cain of Journey. Lyrically I love Ronnie Dio, Bon Scott and Dave Roth.


If you should choose a “theme song” that fits your life, which will it be?

Wow, I don’t know. There’s no such a thing as a theme song for me, it could change every day.


If you were not a musician what would you be?

I have absolutely no idea. Maybe a pilot or a football player or maybe something very useless.


Is it exciting to come to Sweden this summer?

It is always exciting to come to Sweden. Great fans, beautiful people, a lot of traditonal Hard Rock and Metal fans. Absolutely – YES! It is exciting!


/Viktoria Colonna

Trackbacks

  1. […] to outperform a lot of younger colleagues. When you hear Ronnie sing it’s no wonder why Tobias Sammet chose him to sing on the new Avantasia album. His voice balances between very clean and heavy […]

  2. […] you want to read more about the album (or Tobias) check out these (1 & 2) […]

